I’ve Never Been so Angry

“Safeguarding the vulnerable – strengthening the powers of local authorities and others with regards to registration, inspection and intervention will mean effective systems are in place to protect those that most need it. The Bill will introduce a new home educators’ registration system and take new powers for Secretaries of State to intervene in youth offending teams that are failing and potentially putting young people and their communities at risk.”   http://tinyurl.com/yaywqu8

To say that the above statement has not angered me right down to the very core of my being would be the most major understatement of the past few months.

Many things have angered me during this process:

  • The ineptness and audacity of the Badman report.
  • The insinuations that our children aren’t safe.
  • The complete ignorance this country has about home education.
  • The complete lack of concern the public has shown for the possibility that parents  may need CRB checks to be with their children.
  • The complete lack of help in fighting this from my husbands family.
  • The amount of time away from my children this has caused.
  • That I’ve had to listen to stupid comments like:

“I am reasonably happy with the education my children receive…”

I’m sorry—but no one should be ‘reasonably happy’ with their children’s education.  Other than providing them with a loving family, a good education is essential in life.  Our children deserve the very best, we should be ‘overjoyed’ with their education, not ‘reasonably happy’.

“…the recent events will have taught Hazel and Kieran a great deal about politics.”

If anyone is so thick to believe we have looked at this as a wonderful opportunity to teach our children about politics you are stupider than Balls and Badman.  I did not ‘choose’ to have our way of life threatened, because the government is failing to provide a decent education to children in schools and that they, and most of the population, cannot think outside the box.

BUT: to say MY children and all the home educating children in this country are ‘vulnerable’ is just a step too far.  These children are not vulnerable.  They are not the ones fobbed off to nurseries and schools from six-weeks of age.  They are not the ones receiving an ‘OK’ education.  They are not the Baby P’s and Khyra Ishaq’s of this world.  No—our children are not the vulnerable or the ones failed by the State.  How dare the State try to hide their failings by trying to make decent families their scapegoats?

No state education will ever match the quality of education a child who is loved and who is allowed to explore the world in whatever direction they want will receive.  Our children are not force fed an education—they are actively pursuing one—and doing so at their own free will.

I’m sorry, but you have crossed the line of decency Mr. Balls.  How dare you class home educated children in with the truly vulnerable.  Not one study has ever proved anything other than that:

Home educated children are SAFER, HAPPIER and ACHIEVING MORE than any group of schooled children.  Those are the facts—and you will be made to face up to it.

You cannot victimize decent, honest and loving people like this.  You will not get away with this. We will fight you every step of the way.

            I will never apply for your license to educate my children. 

            I will never have a CRB check to be with my children.

No LA will ever speak to my children or evaluate their education.

You may have crossed the line, but you will not get any further.

This entry was posted in HE Review. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I’ve Never Been so Angry

  1. Maire says:

    Wonderful passionate post, the only thing making our children vulnerable is the governments unhealthy appetite for weighing and measuring the unmeasurable.

  2. Elaine says:

    Wonderful Post

  3. Jill says:

    So many of us feel like you do. What angers me is that the general public just don’t get what a threat it all is, the usual ‘if you’ve got nothing to hide’ sentence trotted out.
    Don’t they realise the government is saying we need a license to look after our own children and that they are more vulnerable than if they were in school???

    The battlelines have been drawn and I’m firmly beside you!

  4. HelenHaricot says:

    I agree, i agree i agree. even my father – who has been against home ed from the start, tho ‘letting me do it my way’ [:roll:] is writing in anger against this to the dcsf, to his mp and to the new parliamentary group – go dad.
    i have written a letter to my MP. petitions or no petitions, we should all just write to our MP. your blog post above [minus family bits] would make a great MP letter.

  5. Kelly says:

    Super, super post. That is exactly my take on it. Vulnerable indeed.

  6. tammy says:

    Everytime I think the gov and this review can’t get any more ridiculous or intrusive they top themselves. We can’t let them get away with this.

  7. Linda says:

    This is an excellent post. It explains how I feel far better than I could have said myself.

  8. Susan says:

    Great post.

    However I may have said (with my tongue firmly in my cheek you understand) that well at least they have learnt lots about politics this year. In fact I even blogged in this manner. http://wightweirdos.co.uk/ww/2009/07/badman-encourages-our-autonomous-he/

    whoops

  9. Chloe Watson says:

    100% in agreement with you. This has gone beyond insinuation and slurs, ‘independence’ and ECM. This is libel, on a huge scale.
    Does anybody know if it’s possible to sue the government for libel and harassment?

    Chloe

  10. kellyi says:

    I get fed up with peoples inane comments. When I spoke to one woman about the HE review the other day she replied:

    “Well, isn’t it a good thing to know your children are safe?”

    I couldn’t reply because the palm of my hand was itching too much.

  11. Hannah says:

    Why don’t they do something about truly vulnerable children in their own state education system?

  12. grit says:

    you speak eloquently; tbh i have been so choked and bitter that i cannot bring myself to write out that anger clearly. but i’m glad that you do.

  13. Shell says:

    What they have done is so utterly dispicable. I truly think it is time for all home ed families to simply say NO _ NO WAY!

Leave a Reply

