1st Irish Dance Performance

Last Tuesday the kids’ Irish dancing teacher sent out an email to see if any of the kids could dance in a display that she’d just been asked to do. I wasn’t sure if my two knew enough to join in or if Hazel could come without the new ‘official’ class dress, but sent an email to say they would if she thought it appropriate. The week goes by and I don’t get a response to my email, so I assumed they weren’t going to be part of it. You do know what they say about assuming don’t you?

Argh!-about 10:30pm on Friday night I notice I have a text message. Now if you know me, you know I rarely use my cell/mobile phone-I don’t even know its number. I just have it on when the kids and I are in the car-other than that it’s off. I noticed the light was flashing and that I hadn’t turned it off when we got home earlier. I was even more surprised to see I had a message-and that it had come about 8pm from their teacher asking what they were going to dance! I checked our spam folder and sure enough there was her email. I sent off a quick text & email to say they’d dance whatever she asked them to and we’d be there just after 10am. Then I had to figure out if they had things to wear. Good thing I bought the ‘school’ uniform for Kieran’s tap exam last month.

When the kids woke up I double checked that they were still up to doing it-they both heartily agreed. We dashed round getting everything ready; I even had to do a quick hem on Kieran’s trousers (yes-I bought cheap ones!-and no, I have no idea how to sew, never mind quickly!).

We get to the square just a few minutes before the teacher. Hazel did a quick change right in the square into one of the ‘official’ class dresses and then went to have a ten minute run-through chat and warm-up with the other dancers. While they were doing that I saw their recorder teacher who was in the square shopping with one of her daughters. They stayed to watch the performance.

DSC04791

A few minutes later my daughter makes her public dancing debut. I have to admit, I was in tears! I was so proud of her. Then it was Kieran’s turn-and my little 6 year old danced his heart out. I can’t get over the fact that they could just get up there and not even bat an eyelash about the crowd. There were at least 200 people in the square watching them. And yes, that is fairly accurate-I did a panoramic view with the video camera!

The videos are from the 2nd performance (they did one at 10:30 & one at 11:45). None of the children are in their class, so they’ve never danced with any of them before, and none of this was rehearsed.

This is Hazel dancing with three of the older girls:

This is Kieran dancing with C, who is 2 or 3 years older:

This is a clip from a dance called Celtic Chaos. I really enjoy this one as all the dancers do a different step and the music constantly changes.

This entry was posted in Irish dancing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 1st Irish Dance Performance

  1. Sarah says:

    sorry to not comment on the dancing (well done yet again though! and they look gorgeous in their costumes) but had to ask, do you live in Abingdon? for some reason I thought you were nearer to Reading. I went to school in Abingdon … we lived in Cumnor Hill/Botley when I was a teen.

  2. Dawn says:

    I love the Irish dancing. Your kids look so cute. You must be so proud.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks Dawn & Sarah. Yes Dawn–I’m proud, but really just so stunned by them not being daunted to perform in public. I have no ideas where they get that!

  4. tammy says:

    What fantastic dancing! Congrats to them both on a wonderful performance. Did you dance when you were growing up?

    • Elizabeth says:

      Thanks Tammy! My mom was very good at it, and placed in the top three in Dublin when she was younger. I had lessons until I learned I had to perform on a stage to pass to the next level. Dancing I liked–going on stage would have killed me!! Honestly–I have no idea how I got two out-going kids who can perform!

Leave a Reply

