Quote from Monty Don

A few months back I read this while having lunch in a country market shop. I was sitting in their courtyard overlooking the play area having a pot of tea and reading some old gardening magazines. The kids were running round on the climbing frame and building sandcastles in the sandbox.

“Too many people live in a hideous anonymous world lit by electricity, heated by oil, and are blissfully ignorant of seasons or weather. It is a denial of real life and the potential of being fully human.”
Monty Don
Gardeners World January 2006

I am grateful for electricity and central heating-actually I would find it rather difficult to live without them. (See camping conversation below!) But, I am so thankful that I have a life where not only can I enjoy the seasons, but I can watch my children revel in the joy and wonders of all the seasons.

This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

