What’s the time Kieran?

I thought I’d share a few of Kieran’s achievements and insights of late. He is such a smart, thoughtful, funny little character, and I sometimes think his cleverness gets overlooked. Probably due to his innocence and cuteness!

The first achievement is that today Kieran read his first Dick & Jane story! For the past month or so he’s been showing real interest in the sounds letters make and is very curious about all the written words around him. He’s been trying to sound words out-and is even trying to talk phonetically for me to figure out what he’s saying. (Not that easy!)

This afternoon I asked him if he wanted to try and read one of the stories. He was very eager, and was so pleased with every word he got right. Yes, I know it’s only a few words for each story-but what an achievement. I was so proud of him. My baby is on his way to becoming a ‘reader’. I just hope he loves reading-I see it as being something he’ll enjoy immensely.

The next achievement to report occurred last week. Kieran has been able to tell the time for the whole and half hours for quite awhile now. A few weeks back, the two children were showing more interest in figuring out the time, so I found the watches that they had gotten over a year ago and gave them to them, and left them to it. (Hazel was just about able to tell time by the minute.) They have both been wearing them fairly constantly since. Kieran knew the basics: 24 hours in a day, 60 minutes in an hour, the whole hours and the half hours.

While we were driving to Cornwall last Friday (the 5th) Kieran suddenly said, “Mom, it’s 20 minutes to 11.” To say I was blown away would have been an understatement. I hadn’t gone over the ‘5 minutes’ with him at all, never mind the ‘to the hour’ or ‘after the hour’. He was so pleased with himself. Then the best statement to any mom, ok-to any HE mom, was when he said, “See Mom, I can learn it without you.” Pure music to my ears!

I was wondering why he was being so quiet in the back seat. He was teaching himself how to tell the time during the car ride. So, instead of the usual stream of questions and statements from Kieran the whole ride, I heard the time reported about every, um, 5 minutes or so!

Another funny little thing that happened on the 5th was when Kieran was telling me in the caravan about a dream he’d had that day. I giggled because it’s not the 1st time he or Hazel have told me about ‘dreams they had’ while they were awake. They haven’t come across the ‘daydreaming’ concept yet, so they wouldn’t know the correct term to use. So I pointed out to him that he had been awake all day, and asked how he could have been dreaming while he was awake. He said it ‘was one of those awake dreams I have in the car. Car drives are good for those, aren’t they Mom?” Yes, Kieran, they are. He is so my child!

This entry was posted in Kieran. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s the time Kieran?

  1. Hannah says:

    Well done Kieran! It sounds like you’re coming on in leaps and bounds :o)

  2. Allie says:

    I like “one of those awake dreams”. I have lot of those too.

  3. Emma says:

    Well done Kieran. Sounds like he’s going to enjoy reading.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks everyone–he is really proud of himself. He was reading signs in town today and was pleased as punch!I so love that they day dream Allie. I haven’t outgrown it yet, and hope I never do.

  5. Swiss Clare says:

    I am a huge day dreamer too.M is sort of phonetically speaking at the moment, and I agree, its blooming difficult to figure out what he’s trying to say sometimes!

Leave a Reply

